Wednesday, April 1, 2009
Michigan's Medical Marijuana Law takes effect Saturday
Posted By: Valerie Lego
Updated:3/31/2009 8:44:43 PM - Posted: 3/31/2009 2:38:33 PM
(WZZM) - Michigan's medical marijuana law, which passed last November, takes affect on Saturday, April 4, 2009.
The Michigan Medical Marijuana Association is expecting about 50,000 patients to apply for licenses in the first two years.
The license application is $100 and that's a fee you'll be required to pay whether you're granted a license or not.
James McCurtis with the Michigan Department of Community Health says the card will allow you to do two things, "Grow it and possess it. It has to be in a closed environment and locked so that it is not easily accessible for anyone."
You can apply for a license as a patient or a care giver. Your doctor will also need to fill out an application verifying you have one of the 13 specified diseases or conditions outlined by the state.
Greg Francisco with the Michigan Medical Marijuana Association estimates there will be about 500 patients applying for a medical marijuana license the first week the law is enacted. "Patients are protected when they buy seeds or clones, but the person that sells them or even gives them those seeds or clones is still at risk," explained Francisco.
And that's a concern for the Michigan Medical Marijuana Association.
McCurtis with the MDCH admits the law isn't perfect. "[It] Doesn't say anything about how you acquire it, where you buy it from, or where you get the seeds so you can begin growing it, because that stuff is still illegal."
The law also doesn't allow for pot shops like in the state of California, which is something the Michigan Medical Marijuana Association would like to see changed when the law comes up for review in two years. "That the legislature will consider allowing not-for-profit co-operatives." Those are slightly different from pot shops in that they are more community-based and do not collect a profit from the sale of medical marijuana.
There's no limit on the number of licenses the state will distribute. The $100 fee won't be refunded if the state refuses to grant you a license.
This law also does not protect you from employer drug tests. It will be up to your company as to how they handle your use of medical marijuana.